Getting ready for a new year…

2015

I have to say that New Year’s is one of my favorite holidays if not my favorite. I love the idea of looking back to see what I’ve accomplished only to make goals for this year to be more successful. With that in mind, I’d like to spend this blog post just talking over some of the crazy hair-brained things I plan to do this year with my time, resources and talents.

Goals are a roadmap to moving toward where I want to be and who I want to become as I go through life. I love goals!

Writing Goals:

This one is a steep climb for me, but I’m excited about it. I plan to write 10-16 books just depending on my ability to make time to sit down and create. I am going to be writing YA, MG and NA this year, so it should be a good variety. I’ll be working with BookTrope on most of the series/novels, but there are a few that might go through my self-publishing platform simply because of how fast I can move verses how fast they can move.

Blogging Goals:

I plan on writing on my blog 2-3 times a week mostly with updates, random writings and great books I’ve read or will be reading! I’ve opened a new blog for my pseudo name Kate Thomas, but I think I’ll mostly use that to talk about my New Adult Paranormal series, contest and book involvement. I am opening two other blogs today for the new year. One will be about a journey I’ve been needing to take, but have been doing it all wrong – weight loss. It’s called, “The hardest journey I’ve taken.

I’m starting Optifast with my doctor on Monday (MY BIRTHDAY) and hope to take off about 50lbs this year. I’ll be blogging about that for my own record and to encourage others who are taking my same journey. Lastly, I’m a Christian first and foremost and need to start using some of my writing talent to give honor to God, so I’ll be writing a “Thirsty Thursday Devo” and other random encouragements to build up my faith and hopefully yours. That blog is called, “Acknowledging Glory.”

Entrepreneurial Goals:

I’ve always been type A and the type of person that looks for opportunity everywhere. That being said, Jacob and I are going to work hard on creating a few side businesses this year. The ultimate goal? Him and I working from home together – There is no one I love spending my day more with than my husband. He is the better half of me and is one of the greatest gifts I’ve been given. So… I created an LLC this last year because I’m a CPA by trade, so I’ll be picking up a few small business clients that need bookkeeping/financial advise. I already have a subcontract to do taxes for the upcoming tax season.

I’ll be writing my novels of course and then I’m working on kicking off “Good Tales Book Tours,” a virtual book tour company simply because there are 2-3 in the market to compete with. Seems like there is room for one more. Logo is almost done for this, domaign is purchased and a web-designer will start putting together a custom site on Feb 1st.

This company will be a partnership with Jacob and should open around March/April 2015. Jacob and I are working hard to convert the garage to an office/wood shop. He’s crazy talented with woodwork and metals, so we’re creating a store on Etsy early this spring as well. We’re going with a partnership structure on this one too. So loads of business-type boring stuff to do, but we’re on our way. I drew the logo for our etsy business this morning! 🙂

Personal Goals:

This year I’m going to focus on my faith, my finances and my health. I plan on spending 30 minutes a day with my concentration focused on the things of God, so whether that is prayer, a bible study or my Bible, something that centers me and gives me focus.

Jacob and I are going on a pretty tight budget for this new year in hopes of getting ahead a little and paying off some debt to help us to move toward our goal of self-employment sooner rather than later. A cash budget seems to be the only way to go because that debit card or credit card is just TOO easy to use.

My health is going to be about two things: losing weight for good and running. Jacob and I are going to start training to run a 5k and then hopefully by October we’ll be up for the 10 for Texas. We’ll see! 🙂

“The New Year stands before us, like a chapter in a book, waiting to be written. We can help write that story by setting goals.” Melody Beattie

I couldn’t agree more. I plan to write the next chapter in my life story this year by setting goals and being uber focused on my goals. My end result? Success – Freedom – Peace.

Are you setting goals and if so, what words does reaching those goals bring to mind?

Happy New Year’s! It’s going to be our best  year yet!!

L.

2 thoughts on “Getting ready for a new year…

Leave a Reply

