Howl at the Moon (MG)

HATM Ad

I’m working hard on my debut Middle Grade Novel, Howl at the Moon. I’m so crazy stoked about it because the story was just incredibly fun to write. My editor just returned the first draft with very few edits and I have commissioned an artist to draw the cover, so I’m well on my way to getting it out the door and sharing it with my family, friends and fans.

I’ll be posting updates here of course, but the release could be as early as Christmas or as late as end of January. Either way – ALMOST THERE!!!!!

Short Excerpt:

Darkness pressed in tightly as the wind of early winter swept up and tossed my hair around my head. My eyes were wide with terror as silky white mist moved in front of me. My  breath was trapped in my lungs, screaming for release. The cemetery yawned with delight as the air shifted just so, and the figure of a young woman materialized, her empty eyes moving among those gathered to conjure her from far below the earth. A snort echoed in the air around me as the witch doctor beckoned me to engage the spirit.

            “Speak, boy. She’s now part of your future,” his gravelly voice barked out in my direction.

The burning on my forearm began again and I gasped, looking down, still holding the candle I’d been given in the other hand. The spirit moved closer to hover above me, her lovely pale lip lifted in a devious smirk.

            “Yes, Ben, tell me of the—”

“Benjamin Warren!” Mrs. Lawson shouted. “Are you even awake?”

I snapped my head up as I quickly wiped the drool from my face, my sleeve seemingly already wet. “Uh, yeah. Just closed my eyes so I could think better.”

L.

Leave a Reply

