Good Ol’ Fashion Update…

Hi everyone.

Thought it might be time for a good old fashion update of sorts, just to let you guys know where I was in my process and kind of give you a peek into the wild work of indie writing while maintaining a full-time job and keeping the kids from eating one another. Hey! They do that… watch animal planet. 🙂

Having just released Destroyed, Soul Keeper II on November 15th, I’m breathing a collective sigh of relief with my editor Nicole to have that one out the door. I’ve yet to start on Descent, Soul Keeper III, but it is set to come out January 2015, so obviously I need to get it into gear.

One might ask how long it the process takes from start to finish. I’m sure it’s different for everyone, but for me it takes about 2-3 weeks to write the book and the editing process takes about 4-6 weeks. The cover design work usually takes about 2-3 weeks to get it just perfect and the formatting and uploading is done over a few days. All in all – about 5-6 weeks at most and that is pushing it a little, but I work best under pressure.

Where are we now?

My cover designer is working hard on the crimson cover for Descent and it’s looking GREAT! The cover release is being hosted by Xpresso Book Tours on December 15th, so look for that to come out. Super stoked about this last cover as the first two were just beyond awesome in my humble opinion.

My editor is actually almost done working through our first edit of my middle grade book, Howl at the Moon (A Liarus Detective Series Book), which will hopefully be out next year in February. My friend Mark Shaw, #indiebooksbeseen is hooking me up with a designer for this new cover because I need something more suited for the middle grade reader. I’m going to spend the next few weeks trying to get that manuscript in final format and start promoting it in the right places.

I’m still knee deep in my Virtual Book Tour with GoddessFish, which ends Nov. 28th and am working on a few promo’s for giveaways for Christmas, which you will see advertised on here soon! I have a different designer working on a holiday promo ad for me and am stoked to see what (CK) comes up with.

I was just voted into the governing board of Rave Reviews Book Club (RRBC) and have been busy helping to support the club and its membership as well! And I’m ALMOST over the flu! 🙂

As for my next projects for YA novels, I think I’ll be working on 3-4 stand alone books (we’ll see if we end up with 1 or more) over 2015 and I’m going to dip a little into New Adult with a co-writing friend of mine under a pen name I think. Loads and loads of ideas and lots of projects on my plate, but I’m stoked.

That’s all for now, but be looking for that awesome cover reveal in mid-December and go grab you a copy of Deceived ($0.99) and Destroyed ($2.99) on Amazon today!

Thanks for the support! xoxo

L.

Leave a Reply

