How to create a well-rounded, believable character: Guest Blog by L.A. Starkey

Helen treharne

I think for me, as a reader, the necessity of having well-rounded believable characters that capture my heart, my attention, or my hormones is vital. Reading a book where you just don’t like the main character is honestly painful and not something I can hang with for too terribly long.
One of the best tools I’ve found in creating a good character is to sketch him or her out from the beginning. Let me give you an example from my own debut novel, Deceived.
Name: Samantha Parker
Age: 17
Appearance: Deep blue eyes, black shoulder length-hair (straight), around 5’8’’. Athletic build with curves where needed, but not overtly feminine. No physical markings on her body other than the infinity symbol she receives throughout the book.
Personality: Sam has a sardonic sense of humor and keeps a pretty negative outlook on things. She allows very few people to get close to…

View original post 496 more words

Leave a Reply

