Deceived – Reviewed

deceived_front

Review: Deceived by LA Starkey

The last YA book I read was the last of the Twilight books. Although I found them entertaining enough (anti-feminist message and unnecessary length aside), they didn’t inspire me to pick up another YA book in a hurry.

Then I stumbled across this debut book my Laurie Starkey via my book club and thought why the devil not. I have to admit that checking out the author on Twitter did help my interest as a) she is completely normal, and b) it didn’t strike me as a pile of soppy tripe which would have our young heroine pining over some guy as if nothing else in the world matters.

I was not disappointed! The book focuses on Samantha (no, wait Sam!), her relationship with her best bud Julie, and her emerging love life. No you didn’t need the tissues. What Starkey creates here is a genuine picture of being a teenage girl – Sam is feisty, funny and has hormones! She’s battling with a fear of getting close to people following her formative years in care, not wanting to be seen as some guy’s plaything and the day to day battle of being accepted in High School. The writing is sharp, witty and evocative of all the quick fire banter with friends and the emotions I had in my teenage years. She captures the unique friendship which girls have with each remarkably well. All this is set against a backdrop of Greek mythology (clearly well researched) which Sam has destined to be the soul mate of two immortal brothers who compete for her affections. At time the book is quite dark and it touches on some gritty topics – bereavement, abandonment, jealousy – but they’re pulled together in a style which is light and easy to read.

Now I know that YA may not be for everyone but if you are looking for a well written work with a strong female protagonist, you couldn’t go far wrong with this one. I’ll certainly be picking up the sequel when it comes out.

Helen Treharne

http://helentreharne.wordpress.com/2014/10/06/review-deceived-by-la-Starkey/

One thought on “Deceived – Reviewed

Leave a Reply

