The need to succeed…

key-to-success2

I have always, for as long as I can remember, had this extreme need to succeed, this driving force that pushes me to exhaustion and races me to the next adventure or creation in hopes of finding it – success.

But what is success really? Don’t you think we all define it differently?

In my own mind I’m successful at being a good mom, a good wife, a good worship leader. I’m a great teacher and a strong leader in most areas of my life. I’m a successful CPA for a good sized oil and gas company and I’m a good writer.

As wonderful as those things are, it’s funny how quickly we get wrapped up in our current success. Do you really think anyone else in our lives really defines our success the way we do when we look in the mirror? I’d say I’m only as good as my last successful moment and yet you’d look at me and say I’m an overachiever and quite successful.

I realized today I was doing that again with my writing. How successful I am with it is determined by the number of people I reach and the number of books I sell, but in all reality, nothing could be further from the truth.

I am successful because I poured my heart out on paper and it ACTUALLY made sense. πŸ™‚ Because I pushed to get the story in reader format and learned a million things along the way. Because my family all has a copy of the novel on their shelves and are proud of me for marking something off my bucket list. Because I love writing and effectively telling stories.

I don’t think wanting to be successful is a bad thing at all. I just think we have to be careful by whose terms we define that success, especially if they are our own and move us into a place of not acknowledging all that we’ve done thus far.

The need to succeed is alive and well and at times can leave us frantic. Perhaps in those moments its best to pause and reflect on all that we’ve done and how it’s made us who we are today. Then… tomorrow we jump back onto the race of life in hopes of grandeur. πŸ™‚

L.

Picture: http://www.audreyreille.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/key-to-success2.jpg

Leave a Reply

